President Virginia Smith formed the Committee on the Handicapped and appointed to the committee three students: Beverly Carney ‘79, E. Douglas Kramer ‘81, and Ivor Muroff ’80; two faculty members: Professor Joseph Mucci of the chemistry department and Joyce Riley of education and Africana studies; two administrators: Winifred Earl, director of halls and Harold Kristjansen, registrar and two staff members: college engineer Otis Waterman and Doris Oetjen-Gerdes, secretary to the vice president of development.